-->

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Book Review: Dead in the Water by Aline Templeton

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from Harper Collins  for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it


You know I LOVE a good British mystery, and I've gotten hooked on a few new (to me) authors, so you'll be seeing many reviews in the next month or their books, as I get caught up!

Dead in the Water cover


Synopsis:
This moody and arresting thriller is perfect for fans of Tana French.

The young victim was pregnant, her body washed up on the rocks. Twenty years on, the murder remains unsolved; her father is now dead, and her mother refuses to talk about what went on all those years ago.
Detective Marjory Fleming is called in to reopen the case that her late father, a policeman, was unable to put to rest. As Fleming digs deeper, it becomes clear that her father struggled to keep secret some of the shameful details surrounding the young girl's death.

Can she handle the truth she will unearth, not just about her father but about herself?

Review

Cold cases are all the rage in Law Enforcement circles and TV it seems these days, so no surprise they are popping up in our favorite author's books as well! But this new book takes a different slant- what if it was a case your FATHER worked. Someone you admired and modeled yourself after, who had recently died. Would you be able to be objective? What if your supervisor was on the case as well? Could you toe the line between keeping status quo and exposing the truth for all the good and bad that happened? Aline takes all of these ideas and wraps them around a mystery surrounding a mystery and slowing peels them away to show the strength of her primary character, Marjory, both as a woman (mother, wife) and career woman (cop, administrator), and of her team, the cast of supporting characters, who may be about to make decisions that upset the status quo. 

This book is a rollicking page turner, that will have fans holding their breaths, and applauding Aline for such a fine tale of a the choices a modern career woman, especially in law enforcement, has to make.i can't recommend this new book enough! I do recommend reading the series in it's correct order (this is book 5 out of 8), only ecause the books pick up where the previous one left off, so reading in series is much like watching a TV series as it airs, you don't feel like you are without info from previous episodes. Catch up this Summer, in time for the next book in the series! trust me, you'll LOVE this series!


About the Author:
Aline Templeton lives in Edinburgh with her husband and their Dalmatian dog, in a house with a balcony built by an astronomer to observe the stars over the beautiful city skyline. She has worked in education and broadcasting and has written numerous articles and stories for newspapers and magazines. Her books have been published in translation in several European countries as well as in the United States. Check out her website, http://www.alinetempleton.co.uk/ for more!

Schwan's Cares, and YOU Can Too! (product review)



Disclosure / Disclaimer:  I received this info, and products, free of charge, from Schwan's Home Service, for blog posting purposes. No compensation,  monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post/review. Nor was I told what to say, all opinions are my own, and yours may be different.


Earlier this month,I shared with you about a GREAT new program, Schwan’s Cares

schwan's cares logo

Their new program lets community members support their favorite causes, whether its a local youth sports team, a non-profit group, a church projects or behind a National cause, via an easy-to-create fundraising page on  the Schwans-Cares web page. Did you know that 75% of any charity's funds, come from Jan- Sept? Only 25 %come from the holiday season- that means they need support YEAR round! 

How do you help a cause YOU believe in? very simply! You create a campaign page, build your 'team' and invite people to your campaign, who then support your cause by shopping online from more than 350 of Schwan’s home-style foods, and your group then receives a portion of the proceeds from those sales (20% during the active campaign (usually about 40 days), and 5% for the rest of the year!). Your charity gets the  money to fund the items it needs, and your supporters have gotten some great products from Schwan's! It's a win- win for everyone! 

I recently got to check out some of the great NEW products from Schwan's as well!
We were craving Mexican, so the arrival of Fire Grilled Chicken Breast Fajita MeatRoasted Peppers and Onions and Super Sweet Cut Corn, meant only one thing: Fajita night!


schwans products made into fajitas

It was all VERY easy to make- in a matter of 10 minutes we had fajitas made and ready to go.Add some Mexican rice,a side of corn,and a quick quesadilla, and we had a great easy meal, that the entire family loved, and that was healthy! Half the bag of chicken meat and the veggies were enough for four people, so we'll be getting 2 meals out of each bag! They both have a bit of a kick to them,but just enough to make them tasty, not enough to over power them! And the corn tasted like it came straight from the farm! Of course a great meal demanded to be followed up by their super yummy Butter Pecan Ice Cream! It has SO many pecans, and is so rich, you'd swear it was home made! We haven't had a chance to try their new Four Cheese Pizza, which is on their special discount plan, but I have very high hopes for it!

schwans 4 cheese pizza

So as you can see, Schwan's really can be a great supplement to allow you to have great tasting foods on hand, for when YOU need them, and ones that not only are quick to make, but taste great too! Which is why it is SO easy to get friends and family started buying from them, and supporting your favorite charity at the same time! Plus they are great for the hard to buy for person- you can purchase an egift card from Schwan's for the recipient, and your charity gets $10 back from the sale! Mother's Day and Father's Day are RIGHT around the corner-why not give a gift of something they can REALLY use, that gives back at the same time?

Not looking at starting your own campaign, but want to support a local cause though this program? You can check the campaign page to find one in your area, or that you want to support, like the

Look Good, Feel Better Cancer campaign of Washington DC

Look Good, Feel Better campaign button

or


So what cause will you and your family support this Spring season???

Check out Schwan's Cares and you're sure to find one to support, or start your own today!


Book Review and Giveaway: What Nora Knew by Linda Yellin

Disclosure / Disclaimer: I received this book, free of charge, from Simon & Schuster, for review purposes on this blog. No other compensation, monetary or in kind, has been received or implied for this post. Nor was I told how to post about it

what nora knew cover

Synopsis:

Molly Hallberg is a thirty-nine-year-old divorced writer living in New York City who wants her own column, a Wikipedia entry, and to never end up in her family’s Long Island upholstery business. For the past four years Molly’s been on staff for an online magazine, covering all the wacky assignments. She’s snuck vibrators through security scanners, speed-dated undercover, danced with Rockettes, and posed nude for a Soho art studio.

Fearless in everything except love, Molly is now dating a forty-four-year-old chiropractor. He’s comfortable, but safe. When Molly is assigned to write a piece about New York City romance "in the style of Nora Ephron," she flunks out big-time. She can’t recognize romance. And she can’t recognize the one man who can go one-on-one with her, the one man who gets her. But with wit, charm, whip-smart humor, and Nora Ephron’s romantic comedies, Molly learns to open her heart and suppress her cynicism in this bright, achingly funny novel.



Check Linda's take on the book before I get to my review:





Review:

This book is a super quick read (I read it in two sittings over the holiday weekend) and is a true homage to all things 'Nora'! My generation (and the author's) has been subtly defined and tempered by Nora's movies, so it's no surprise that our age group has fallen so much for this book! I have to admit I was totally taken with the first half of the book, and then I saw where the book was heading and after that I sort of read with the 'can't help to look at the train wreck while passing by' view. The first half of the book Molly was being strong and determined, making honest, familiar to us all mistakes. 

But the second half was all about setting up 'the one' and the episodes with him and Molly. And that is where it felt more like a movie than a book that allowed characters and relationships to develop. In short, it felt forced, and too coincidental, like it was trying to be a Nora movie. Honestly I found myself at the end of the book screaming 'no!', as I felt like what made Molly,well Molly, was lost in the runaway train of her meeting 'the one', which the reader never feels like we get to really know. Is he really her 'the one', or will she find out 6 months later that witty dialogue does not a relationship make? 

There is a lot to love about this book, and I think depending on what you are looking for in your chick lit reading, it could be a huge hit with certain readers.i just personally wanted more for Molly- I wanted more Kathleen Kelly, that tough, independent, feisty heroine! But it is a good poolside read!


About the Author:

Linda Yellin writes humor pieces for More magazine. She wrote numerous short stories for Redbook magazine back when they still published short stories and was a regular guest on SiriusXM Radio’s women’s talk show, "Broadminded." Her writing career began in advertising where she wrote headlines for shampoos, hamburgers, and cheese. Get the scoop at LindaYellin.com.



Giveaway:

Want to win this review copy?



Thanks for reading this post and entering the giveaway!

Need Some Fun Sheets for Earth Day?

Earth Day is TODAY!

earth day 2014logo
Courtesy of WVVA.com

Check out these fun sheets from education.com

For younger kids:
http://www.education.com/slideshow/earth-day-first-printables/recycle-match-up/?cid=50.300
and
http://www.education.com/slideshow/earth-day-second-printables/recycle-process-paper/

For older kids:
http://www.education.com/slideshow/earth-day-science-third/if-i-were-a-tree/
and
http://www.education.com/slideshow/earth-science-fifth/learn-earth-layers/
and
http://www.education.com/slideshow/earth-day-fourth-printables/tree-word-search-1/


And for something a little different, from Melanie Hope Greenberg
http://www.whatdowedoallday.com/2014/04/earth-coloring-page.html

Bless Their Little Giveaways Linky: April 22-28, 2014

blessings button

Great Deals for YOU!

discount books banner marzetti banner shermans travel ad